前景


数字革命正在改变我们的世界,全球商业转型浪潮一触即发。我们相信,数字化服务创新将塑造这个新时代。

核心产品数字化并为客户提供高价值体验,正在彻底改变行业和市场。那些在角逐中胜出的公司将通过服务获得新的收入,接触到新的受众,与客户建立更紧密的关系,并免受竞争和市场的冲击。

挑战    


从何处入手?打造数字化的产品和服务是一个复杂的过程,包括技术开发、新服务推广和企业转型。实现一个既能在市场上站得住脚又能保持利润率的数字化突破,无疑是一项艰巨的任务。

设计思维可以帮助我们明确方向 - 在设计时,时刻考虑最终用户的目标并且广泛结合各色创新技术达到目的。要想成功,我们需要恰到好处地综合运用市场洞察、服务设计与技术实力。

接下来呢?


转型服务模型


服务创新的第一步是审视一家组织如何通过活动来实现最终用户的目标。这个问题将带来根本性的进步,例如通过订阅模式来完善实体产品甚至干脆取而代之,或者将一项产品视为一种服务来将其个性化。

服务则变成了难忘的体验,新的模式改变了消费者、提供者以及第三方之间的商业关系。

这些当然都有利于促成企业转型,但是与此同时,用户访问、计费、支付、服务激活和管理等技术层面的问题亦是至关重要。成功还取决于新服务的推出和迭代——这一点也逐渐有赖于支持一边运行一边学习的 AI 系统。    

我们正在开创能够推动市场转型的数字化突破 

自主运行 


最大的价值将来自于弥合实体与数字之间鸿沟的服务。 当具备人工智能的互联设备连接到云端,只需要有限的人工干预就能执行复杂的工作,从而改变一个行业的面貌。 

这种自主运行——包括从机器人小车到顺畅的购物体验——通常是由一个位于云端的中央‘大脑’控制。通过这些系统的组合来实现一种新型服务,将变得越来越常见,而这得益于数字孪生和智能边缘技术等新事物的问世。 

自主运行——让客户舒心 

没有人喜欢日常琐事,比如说周末的超市购物,修剪草坪等。我们都喜欢充满活力地茫茫路多过平庸无聊,这也使得自主运行越来越广泛地出现。 

你能想到么,去除繁琐日常可以大大提升消费者的便利。更好的是,因为这一切是自主运行的,它们都可以当作数字化服务被提供给消费者。

在这个物理和数字技术相结合的领域,那些致力于为顾客提供更加便捷体验的从业者将能获得丰厚的商业回报,并将不断壮大。 

智能数字平台 


平台从技术和概念服务模型层面塑造数字化服务思维,其产生的经济效益促进了消费者和生产者之间的良性循环。 

这凸显了API 经济的重要性,后者代表平台延伸扩展到一系列设备之上以形成数字生态系统。这包括可穿戴设备、近场设备、边缘网络和雾计算。人工智能将变得越来越重要,可以支持平台学习、推荐、做出智慧决策和交付数据见解。 

新型数字服务合同:您控制数据,我们负责您的体验 

世界上最重要的商业合同将迎来新的形式。人们默认用个人数据交换数字服务将越来越不被接受。这种巨大的转变正在发生,而许多巨大的社会影响却被忽视了。在本文中,我将探讨未来推动突破性智能数字平台的分布式账本技术。 

环境界面


成功的服务离不开好的人际互动设计。我们都是屏幕爱好者,深受视觉界面的影响。但是,在设计对话中采用新技术的非接触式创新正在加速发展。    

前庭(重力)和本体感觉(相对身体位置)增强了人的五感,同时技术也支持脑-机接口。随着计算机世界挣脱屏幕的桎梏,我们正在积极探索这些全新的领域。下一个阶段是零用户界面(UI),届时我们将对神经传感做出反应而识别情感、情绪、感知和手势。

人类感官、环境界面以及数字化服务的未来

人类究竟是什么……我们中的很多人一直在思索关于人类存在的终极问题,随着近期逐渐解封,对于这个问题的思索仍将持续。在隔离期间的经历,让我们有机会意识到自己被剥夺了什么。

基本的人际互动、身体接触、我们闻到、看到、听到和感受更广阔世界的自由。对我来说,这个阶段也突出了我职业生涯的核心元素,因为数字化服务是通过人类的感官提供价值的。

数字化健康服务


全球卫生保健体系承受着向逐渐老龄化的人口提供经济实惠且有价值的医疗保健的巨大压力,而老龄化人口往往受困于复杂的、与生活方式有关的慢性病。

与此同时,数字化服务技术的兴起带来了连通性、移动出行、数据生成和机器学习的能力。这些预示着新的洞察、新的治疗方法,为人类应对 21 世纪的医疗保健挑战提供了希望。

数字化服务领域的良性竞争

对人类活动的限制正在改变一切。尤其是在席卷英国全科医生诊所的数字化革命中,初创企业正在颠覆原来的颠覆者以加速普及新型患者服务。

但是,数字化服务到底有多受保护呢?今天的突破性创新在明天是否会有被复制推广的危险?

数字化服务

我们正在开创能够推动市场转型的数字化突破

The promise


The digital revolution that is changing our world is ready to transform global business. We anticipate that digital service innovation will shape this new era.

The opportunity to digitalise core offerings and provide customers with highly valued experiences is revolutionising industries and markets. Those who prevail will seize new service-based revenues, reach new audiences, build stronger customer relationships and be protected from competition and market shocks.

The challenge


Where to start? Creating digital products and services through technology development, service rollout and business transformation is complex. Making a digital breakthrough that’s defensible in the market and resistant to margin pressures will be demanding.

Design thinking will show the way – designing with the end user’s goals in mind and leveraging a broad mix of innovation accordingly. For success, it is paramount to apply just the right combination of market insight, service design and technology prowess.

What’s next?


Transformational service models


Service innovation starts by viewing an organisation from a single perspective. How do its activities satisfy end user goals? This will spark radical advances such as augmenting or displacing a physical product with a subscription model or personalising an offering as a service.

Services become memorable experiences and new models change the commercial relationship between the consumer, provider and third parties.

All will transform a business, but it’s vital to consider the technical aspects of user access, billing, payment, service activation and management. Success will also depend on how new services are launched and incrementally developed – often with the help of AI systems that learn as they operate.

We're delivering digital breakthroughs that transform markets

Autonomous operation


The greatest value will come from services that bridge the physical-digital divide. AI-powered connected devices and platforms that work in conjunction with cloud-based systems can revolutionize a business by carrying out the most complex tasks with limited human intervention.

This autonomous operation – spanning everything from robotic vehicles to frictionless shopping – is often controlled by a central cloud-based brain. Creating a service through the combination of these systems is a game-changer, increasingly empowered by new approaches such as digital twin and smart edge technology.

Autonomous operations – let customers take it easy

None of us are keen on routine. The big weekend shop? A dispiriting chore. Cutting the lawn? Spare me. We all crave buzz over boredom, which is why autonomous operations have been devised.

And guess what, removing routine is a boon to end user convenience. Better still, because they are highly autonomous, they can be readily made available as digital services.

This physical/digital space represents the commercial sweet spot that will help ambitious companies deliver transformative customer convenience and we believe it is set for massive expansion.

Smart digital platforms


Platforms shape digital service thinking, at both technology and conceptual service model levels. The economics at play recognise the virtuous-circle interaction of consumers and producers.

This highlights the importance of the API economy where platforms can be extended to a range of devices to form digital ecosystems. Wearables, nearables, edge networks and fog computing are all included in this. AI will play an increasingly important role, enabling platforms to learn, recommend, make intelligent decisions and deliver data insights.

The new digital services contract: you control your data, we’ll deliver your experience

One of the world’s most significant commercial contracts is up for renegotiation. Time is running down on the tacit agreement that we will happily trade our personal data for digital services. This seismic shift is happening in plain sight, with many of the huge societal implications going unnoticed. In this article I examine the distributed ledger technologies which will power breakthrough smart digital platforms.

Ambient interfaces


The success of services depends on human interaction. We are all lovers of screens and the power of visual interfaces endures. But contactless innovation is accelerating at pace, with new skills being applied to design conversations.

The five human senses are being augmented with vestibular (gravitational) and proprioception (relative body position), while technologies are also allowing for brain computer interfaces. We are ambitiously exploring these as the world moves beyond the screen. The next phase is zero UI, where we recognise sentiment, mood, perception, and gesture, and respond to neuroscience sensing.

Human senses, ambient interfaces and the future of digital services

Oh, what it is to be human… many of us have been musing on the big questions of our existence and will continue to do so as lockdown gradually loosens around us. In our periods of isolation, we were reminded of what we were denied.

Essential human contact, physical touch, our freedom to smell, see, hear and feel the wider world. For me, the phase has also highlighted the core component of my professional life, because human senses are the means by which digital services deliver value.

Digital health services


Global healthcare is under immense pressure to deliver cost-effective, value-based care to an aging population, often beset by complex, lifestyle-related chronic illnesses.

Simultaneously, emerging digital service technologies are bringing connectivity, mobility, data generation and machine learning capabilities. They promise new insights, new therapies and a response to the challenges of 21st Century healthcare.

Healthy competition within digital services

Lockdown is changing everything. Not least the digital revolution rippling through GP surgeries in the UK, where start-ups are disrupting the disruptors to accelerate mass adoption of new patient services.

But just how protectable really are digital services? Are today’s breakthrough innovations under threat of becoming tomorrow’s commodities?

Digital services

We're delivering digital breakthroughs that transform markets