前景


我们正在迎来一个千载难逢的时刻。一场地震式的技术突破将为许多成熟和新出现的领域,例如药物研发、卫星通信和机器人导航,提供新的可能性。这是第二次量子革命。它将推动至少是现在完全无法想象的新的应用。

我们需要重新调整我们的集体期望。认为目前正在改变我们世界的数字技术将无限期流行的观念可能是错误的,因为其局限性已经越来越明显了。很多障碍迫在眉睫,包括数据安全问题,还有重要的科学模拟仍然无法解决,即使我们投入很多超级计算机。但量子技术将解决当今“经典”计算机无法实现的突破。  

挑战


量子技术要求非常严格。基本粒子在与周围环境隔离下进行操作——当这些要在实验室外实现,并达到相当程度的鲁棒性、实用性和经济性,是非常具有挑战性的。这需要全新的开发方法来定义、开发和测试量子系统。

但也许最大的障碍是怪异的物理学让人感觉太过陌生。量子现象非常违反我们在科学或工程中形成的直觉。我们本质上是在处理粒子同时存在于两个地方的传送。新一波对物理学、计算机科学和材料科学有着深刻见解的专家正在迎接挑战。量子科学正在蓬勃发展。

量子计算

有人说量子计算机提供了“超越摩尔定律”的速度增量。但这就像称印刷机为更好的笔一样,它忽略了量子计算的变革性。这不再只是理论上的可能性,我们将在未来三到五年的时间看到真正的应用。

以正确的方式向其中一台机器提出正确的问题,它会在几毫秒内回答——而不是最好的超级计算机需要的几秒、几小时、几天甚至几年。现在设想一下通过量子计算机模拟新的材料和化合物。它将为许许多多的工作带来革命性的改变,从设计更好的电池到创造新的药物。

革命性的量子传感器

极其精确的量子传感器正在出现,达到100 甚至 1,000 倍的飞跃。这一代人首次使一些新的现象得以得到观察。这些传感器能够检测从复杂的通信信号到大脑内连接的任何事物,从地下矿藏到火山活动的精确监测。这个可能性是无限的——其中一些是我们在视频中所展示的,通过这些视频您可以看到量子传感的巨大潜力。

用于增强传感的量子控制

当前的气体检测技术已经非常先进——我们真的能做得更好吗?

安全的量子密匙分发

在日益数字化的世界中,量子计算机对数字安全构成了很大的威胁。它们破解常用加密方案的能力意味着世界上许多密码系统已经过时。量子密钥分发 (QKD) 使得通讯可以分发密匙却无法被有效拦截。它们的保密性是由量子力学保证的。

这种基于物理学的方法对于保护必须保密数十年的数据至关重要。比如关键基础设施、商业机密或个人基因组数据等敏感信息。相关组织已经将量子计算机的威胁纳入其长期技术路线图,并寻求能够帮助应对复杂技术挑战的合作伙伴。  

量子计算——我们必须直面数字安全的威胁

量子计算是创新的温床。这种奇妙的物理、数学和计算机科学交叉点的非凡潜力正在吸引来自全球的大量投资。

下一步


我们正在参与其中。我们的科学家和工程师正在我们自己的专用实验室中研究量子技术的实际应用,尝试突破传统、“经典”方法的界限。我们称之为“Quantum@CC”——一个让我们解开谜团并重新定义最先进技术的地方。这是不寻常的量子物理学与实际工程和技术发展相结合的地方。不可能的事情开始变得可能。

投资量子:并非掷骰子

投资量子技术并不容易。区分炒作和真正的潜力与技术本身一样复杂——而且可能非常复杂。但投资正确的量子技术也极具吸引力。来自世界各地实验室的技术现在有望带来巨大的好处……在这段视频中,我揭示了我们 Cambridge Consultants 如何帮助投资者做出正确决定以分享技术的红利。

我们能够帮助您化不可能为可能

The promise


We’re reaching a once-in-a-generation moment. A seismic technology shift that will redefine the art of the possible in domains as established and varied as drug discovery, satellite communications and robotics navigation. This is the second quantum revolution. And it will drive applications that are – right now at least – entirely unimaginable.

We need to recalibrate our collective expectations. It’s wrong to assume that the digital technologies currently transforming our world will prevail indefinitely. Limitations are evident already. Barriers are looming that mean data can never be truly secure. Vital scientific simulations will remain insoluble, no matter how many supercomputers we throw at them. But quantum technology will enable breakthroughs which are unthinkable with today’s ‘classical’ computers.

The challenge


Quantum technology is seriously demanding. Fundamental particles are manipulated while isolated from the surrounding environment – a challenging task to replicate outside the lab in robust, practical, cost-effective systems. Whole new development approaches are required to specify, develop and test quantum systems.

But perhaps the biggest hurdle is that the weird physics can feel utterly alien. Quantum phenomena are counterintuitive to anything else in science or engineering. We are essentially dealing with teleportation, with particles existing in two places at the same time. A new wave of experts, with deep insight into physics, computer science and material science, is rising to the challenge. Quantum is happening.

Quantum computing

Some say quantum computers offer speed increments ‘beyond Moore’s Law’. But that’s like calling a printing press a better pen. It misses the transformative nature of the invention, which is no longer just a theoretical possibility. Useful applications may only be three to five years away.

Ask one of these machines the right question in the right way, and it will answer in milliseconds – rather than the seconds, hours, days or years that the best supercomputers would take. Now apply that perspective to the simulation of new materials and compounds enabled by quantum computers. It will revolutionise countless endeavours, from designing better batteries to creating new pharmaceuticals.

Radical quantum sensors

Exquisitely precise quantum sensors are emerging that mark a leap forward of 100 or even 1,000 times. This new generation is allowing new phenomena to be observed for the very first time. The sensors are capable of detecting anything from complex communication signals to the connections of the brain. From underground mineral deposits to precise monitoring of volcanic activity. The possibilities are boundless – and some of them our captured in our video that unpacks the potential of quantum sensing.

Quantum control for enhanced sensing

Current gas detection techniques are incredibly advanced – can we really do anything better?

Secure quantum key distribution

Quantum computers present an existential threat to security in an increasingly digital world. Their ability to crack commonly used encryption schemes means that many of the world's cryptosystems are already obsolete. Quantum key distribution (QKD) allows for communication where the secret keys are distributed in a way that cannot be effectively intercepted. Their secrecy is guaranteed by quantum mechanics.

This physics based approach will be essential for protecting data that must remain secret for decades. Examples include sensitive information about critical infrastructure, commercial secrets or personal genomic data. Organisations are already factoring in the threat of quantum computers into their long term roadmaps and seeking partners who can help meet the complex technical challenges.

Quantum computing - we must confront the threat to digital security

Quantum computing is a hotbed of innovation. The extraordinary potential of this weird yet wonderful intersection of physics, maths and computer science is attracting heavy investment from companies around the world.

What's next?


We’re on the case. Our scientists and engineers are researching practical applications of quantum technology within our own purpose-built labs, pushing boundaries well beyond conventional, ‘classical’ approaches. We call it ‘Quantum@CC’ – a place for us to crack open the mystery and redefine the state of the art. It’s where the unusual physics of quantum mechanics meets practical engineering and technology development. And where the impossible starts to become possible.

Investing in quantum: don’t play dice

Investing in quantum technology isn't easy. Distinguishing the hype from the real potential is just as complicated as the technology itself – and that can be incredibly complex. But investing in the right quantum technology is also hugely attractive. The tech coming out of labs around the world right now promises enormous benefits… In this video, I reveal ways that we at Cambridge Consultants can help investors make the right calls to gain those benefits.

We can help you achieve the seemingly impossible